In 2001 founding member John McEuen returns to the band after a 14 year absence. In Spring 2002, Capitol Records releases the 30th Anniversary Edition of the landmark Will the Circle Be Unbroken followed several months later by Will the Circle Be Unbroken Vol. III. That collection garners multiple Grammy nominations and a CMA nomination for Vocal Event with Johnny Cash for “Tears In The Holston River.” In early 2003 the band produces a PBS Television special highlighting performances by guests from all three Circle projects. Capitol releases the box set Trilogy containing all three projects and a DVD of the TV special. NGDB records a duet with the legendary Kris Kristofferson for the Grammy nominated Carter Family tribute The Unbroken Circle. In 2004 the band releases Welcome To Woody Creek their first all new studio project in five years. At the end of 2004 Ibbotson departs the band.

  • Jeff Hanna – guitars/vocals
  • Jimmie Fadden – drums/harmonica/vocals
  • Jimmy Ibbotson – guitars/mandolin/bass/vocals
  • Bob Carpenter – keyboards/accordion/vocals
  • John McEuen – banjo/fiddle/guitar/mandolin